Outer Banks, North Carolina
Currituck Beach Lighthouse was completed in 1875 and rises 162 feet. The unpainted brick exterior blends in well with the lush surroundings.
Adding to the charm is a two-story Victorian style keeper's duplex, which was largely prefabricated elsewhere and shipped piece-by-piece. In 1920, an additional, smaller, keeper's cottage was shipped to the site to accomodate a third keeper.
Both the lighthouse and the outbuildings had shown the ravages of time and neglect by the 1970's. In 1980, a group of citizens formed the Outer Banks Conservationists, Inc., (OBC). After obtaining the right to lease the property, they began restoration of the keeper's quarters and other outbuildings. Their efforts were rewarded when the National Park Service transferred ownership to the group around 2003.
Visitors can now roam the grounds of the lighthouse and can even climb the 214 steps to the top.
Directions: From Highway 264 in Kill Devil Hills, follow Highway 158 north for about 20 miles.
Learn more about Currituck Lighthouse by clicking on the link below.
Barrier Island Art also offers great shopping for almost everything! Stroll through the many stores in the mall, offering safe and secure shopping! Find coupons, discounts, and items offered only on line by many merchants!
Visit the Free and Fun page and download free wallpaper and screensavers. All downloads are spyware free and contain no popups or hidden advertising!
Music is "Peace in the Heart," Original by Jalal Ali, used with permission. Visit his site by clicking on the link below.